Diablo Valley School home
    Home    Fast Facts    Philosophy    How It Works      Admissions      Events     Calendar       Contact      
    FAQ     Readings & Videos     Tuition     Support Us     Other Schools     Testimonials     Viewbook    

anna kate
Anna Kate is 12 and has been coming to DVS since age 6.

Anna Kate's Viewpoint

What do you like doing at DVS?
I like running meetings. I'm the school meeting chair and elections committee chair, and I was the JC (Judicial Committee) clerk.

Over time, have there been changes in the things you like doing?
Yes. Very much. When I was little, my friends and I would play with video games and stuffed animals, and play outside. Now I still play outside but I don't really do video games or stuffed animals. Now I like fashion, making things with fabric, drawing, and crafts.

How do you decide what to do each day?
I just hang out with my friends. I just do whatever I want to at the time. Sometimes I bring stuff in from home, but the school has a lot of stuff.

What kinds of things are you doing lately?
Drawing and talking a lot. Another student and I are writing a play, but we haven't told people about it yet because it's kind of hard to write once people know we are doing that. We are on our 17th page, so we are hopefully going to finish it by the end of this month.

What is your best skill or talent?
I'd like to think acting. I love acting, singing, and musical theater.

Is there anything you are working on improving?
Singing. My sister is really good at it so she is helping me.

Has the staff helped you in any way?
They helped me with math. Reading and writing, I'm doing that now with Anne-Martine.

What do you think about how decisions are made at DVS?
The whole system seems to work.

How do people get along together here?
They get along pretty darn good.

What are you thinking of doing after you leave DVS?
I want to go to the Cordon Bleu in Canada and then open a restaurant. I want it to be a diner right now, but I might change my mind.